Queen II


Release date: 12 September, 2023

Queen's second album was produced by Robin Geoffrey Cable, Roy Thomas Baker and Queen, and engineered by the ever-resourceful Mike Stone. Recorded at London's Trident Studios in August 1973, the band were at last permitted to use the studio during normal hours and, unlike the first album, take proper time to experiment with the myriad of ideas they had for new techniques, textures and sounds. Finally, Queen could record an album how they wanted, when they wanted, and without the limitations imposed upon them throughout the debut work.

The album cover concept was based on a photograph of Marlene Dietrich that Freddie had seen, and Mick Rock was brought in to achieve a similar effect. The image has since become one of the most recognisable and frequently used of the band, and is as striking today as it was in the 1970s.

1. Procession

2. Father to Son

3. White Queen (As It Began)

4. Some Day One Day

5. The Loser in the End

6. Ogre Battle

7. The Fairy Teller's Master-stroke

8. Nevermore

9. The March of the Black Queen

10. Funny How Love Is

11. Seven Seas of Rhye

Vinyl LP

UPC: 00602547288240